26th Oct 09 - For urgent error, please post at our FaceBook group. Support platform will be back within 1-2 days.

I feel like a fraud!

Come In And Say Hello

Moderators: chriscoot, Fred

I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:13 pm

Hey everyone,
I'm feeling like something of an imposter here but hopefully you'll understand why in a second.
I'm more of a car-man myself but i like to tinker with all things mechanical. However, i have never come across a vespa before in my travels until the other day a friend told me she had a 1967 Immaculate vespa just kind of hanging around at their house...... Turns out she wants to sell it.
SO, instead of going straight to eBay to get ripped off, i thought i'd find out a little bit more about it and how it works and, more importantly, ask the enthusiasts if they want first refusal on it as i understand it's quite sought after.

So i have a couple of very basic questions about the thing. Firstly, is it belt or chain driven? i've found the clutch and 4-speed selector so i got that far. i've never ridden a scooter in my life! (hence the title of this thread) i guess as it has a starter switch then its not kick start. and that's about all i know about it.
So what do people look for as key points in an old vespa, and how much is likely to be worth?

any advice appreciated.

I can't advertise it officially on this forum yet obviously so i'm just going to lurk here for a bit i guess and guage any interest that people may have.


Many thanks

Mike
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Guy160 on Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:22 pm

Hi Mike,

Ideally, post a few pics of it. But...ANY 1967 Vespa is going to be kickstart unless its been modified in some way. Its direct drive through the gearbox, theres no chain or belt.
Image
User avatar
Guy160
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:08 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:27 pm

shall i post pics here? it was reconditioned in the UK last year so might that explain electric start?
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Juan on Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:12 pm

Go on then, I'll take a wild stab in the dark.

My money say's it's a 'Nammer POS with a LML block in it.
Black Widdas S.C.

Entry by natural selection
User avatar
Juan
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:04 pm

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:06 am

Hi there, i don't know how you upload on this forum so here's the ebay item number 140342136210 where the pics are. pics taken by the owner so they're not great
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Juan on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:17 pm

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140342136210&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.co.uk%3A80%2F%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dm38%26_nkw%3D140342136210%2B%26_sacat%3DSee-All-Categories%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

Restored in England? Too much on that points to it being Bullshite IMHO. I could be wrong but that's my gut feeling and I'm sticking with it.
Black Widdas S.C.

Entry by natural selection
User avatar
Juan
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:04 pm

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:12 pm

how can i find out for sure?
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Guy160 on Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:53 pm

I agree with Juan, that's either a Viet resto, or if it was done in England it's been lashed up. All the telltale signs of Vietnam cost cutting are there, the PX floormat being a screaming giveaway..
Image
User avatar
Guy160
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:08 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:53 pm

What do mean by lashed up? and how can i trace the restoration work? the only papers i have been given by the seller are the v948 document for reg. in the UK, the British Lambretta Archive letter and the MOT certificate, plus the manual.
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Guy160 on Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:03 pm

Why would the Lambretta Archive issue a dating certificate for a Vespa?

Wrong bits- 10" wheels, PX plastic centremat (the viet bodge shops ALWAYS do this!!) legshield toolbox on a model that never had them (another 'Nam speciality) , fully matching combo of (incorrect) twin saddles, backrest and spare wheel cover...Uk models had proper dual seats), incorrect trim on the front mudguard,shouldnt be any....wrong mudguard too.

I'd happily bet that bike came from Vietnam.

The worrying thing is that these are all cosmetic things you can see. Shortcuts basically...thing is, you can't see inside the engine, or under the paint, and thats where the really nasty bodges lurk. Hopefully its got a new LML engine, and not a reconditioned original engine.
Image
User avatar
Guy160
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:08 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:31 pm

ok, so it looks like the seller has bought this at a silly price an been ripped off right? she basically had her husband buy it for her on a whim and was sold it with the details i have posted there. those are all her words i'm just going to the effort of trying to actually get rid of it now. As far as i know it's been driven about 20 miles by her and now she's bored of it.

Realistically, how much is it worth? answers on a postcard please!
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby cec of Donny on Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:37 am

Mike67forsale wrote:Hey everyone,
I'm feeling like something of an imposter here but hopefully you'll understand why in a second.
I'm more of a car-man myself but i like to tinker with all things mechanical. However, i have never come across a vespa before in my travels until the other day a friend told me she had a 1967 Immaculate vespa just kind of hanging around at their house...... Turns out she wants to sell it.
SO, instead of going straight to eBay to get ripped off, i thought i'd find out a little bit more about it and how it works and, more importantly, ask the enthusiasts if they want first refusal on it as i understand it's quite sought after.

So i have a couple of very basic questions about the thing. Firstly, is it belt or chain driven? i've found the clutch and 4-speed selector so i got that far. i've never ridden a scooter in my life! (hence the title of this thread) i guess as it has a starter switch then its not kick start. and that's about all i know about it.
So what do people look for as key points in an old vespa, and how much is likely to be worth?

any advice appreciated.

I can't advertise it officially on this forum yet obviously so i'm just going to lurk here for a bit i guess and guage any interest that people may have.


Many thanks

Mike
With all due respect, I don't think anyone will buy it on here. There is a chance it may be o.k.
It will sell on e bay at the price shown no doubt.Someone will have been at the IOW this week end and decided to rekindle their youth. They will no doubt be excited by the shiney things on that scooter so don't worry too much
User avatar
cec of Donny
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Doncaster

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Mike67forsale on Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:56 am

Right then, well this has certainly been informative! thats's what i was hoping for with ebay as i'm on commission. I've learnt a bit about Vespas in the process too.

Thanks for the advice everyone,

Mike
Mike67forsale
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:56 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Guy160 on Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:14 pm

Just noticed your location. Bet that scoot is from a certain Windsor 'nammer shop. And if it is...yep she got ripped off!!
Image
User avatar
Guy160
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:08 am

Re: I feel like a fraud!

Postby Guy160 on Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:16 pm

Welll...I was right, its still on their website!!
Image
User avatar
Guy160
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:08 am

Next

Return to New Forum members Introduce Yourselves here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



FREE phpBB Forum Hosting by GetPhpBB. Create your Free phpBB Forum Hosting now!